Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm creating a new thread in the hopes that more people come forward with information on 2.3L EcoBoost swaps for the 65-73. I see enormous potential for this motor to be used in daily driver cars for something that's fun and has the utility of a modern car. With very simple mods (intake/exhaust/intercooler/tune), it will put down similar power numbers to a warmed up 302 (320 whp and 360 wtq), weigh a smidge less and get much better MPG, all while being dead reliable, quiet and clean. Good Mustang 2.3Ls are $1500 and dropping.

I have seen three examples of EcoBoost swaps in 65-73s.

1966 coupe - in progress - Newbie here with 66’ mustang swap

1968 fastback - done with donor harness & MT82 -

1968 fastback - done with donor harness & MT82? - Lynette Axtell | Forgeline Motorsports Custom Made-to-Order Forged Aluminum Racing and Performance Wheels!

Foxbody notchback with 2.3 EB and 6R80. Used donor harness, has A/C, etc.

The builder of the '66 says they had to chop the towers on their car. It looked like it fit in the photos, but perhaps there would be contact when the engine torques to one side. The coolant lines to the turbo look like the limiting factor, which is solvable. The turbo itself and wastegate may come close, though. Clearance looks extremely tight on the high-pressure fuel pump, but engine placement can be manipulated to make this work. I wonder how the Precision turbo on the EB Fox notch would fit it if was moved forward slightly. Note that the black '68 clears with the towers in place.