Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1965 Mustang Base 6 cyl coupe 4 speed
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello VMF! I'm a new member from CT. I have the same 65 Mustang 3.3l 6 cyl coupe my dad bought me in 1975 when I graduated High Scool. I have kept it in a garage all these years and I finally decided to do a full restoration. Its not a special car, but it's special to me. Body, frame, and floors are all done and I am doing mechanicals before final paint and assembly. Motor is ready to go back in after refresh, and In preparation I am looking ahead to exhaust system, so I have a weird question;

The head pipe support bracket attaches to engine block. My block has a cast-in boss for this mounting point, but the hole was never drilled or tapped. I would like to include the support bracket in the build, so I was wondering if anyone can tell me the depth of this hole and confim thread size, so I can drill and tap this hole. Any advice is welcome!
Vehicle Car Hood Motor vehicle Automotive lighting

Engineering Machine Auto part Coin Tool

·
Premium Member
825 Posts
Wish I could help. Just wanted to welcome you here. My grandmother gave me her 67 that she purchased new when I turned 16, so I actually know how much it means to you.
Troy

·
Registered
485 Posts
Sorry, can't help you other than to say welcome to a great forum and very nice work you are doing ! Car is looking awesome!
You have my respect for keeping with the I6, and for protecting it all these years.

·
Registered
1,373 Posts