Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks everyone for your help on my last post.

I got the distributor installed and ran the engine with no problem.

Now I need to adjust the advance. I did turn the dizzy and tune by ear (I'm no expert so I turned it to what sounded good). But I have a timing light and I would like to set it to the preferred degree.

What is best for a mild build street driven car? Can you walk me through the theory?

Thanks!

·
VMF Ambassador
6,590 Posts
Some of that depends on how much total advance your distributor adds in. At the top end (past ~3000rpm), your total timing should be between 36 and 39*.

Most people set their initial timing between 10 and 14*. However, some cars run better with more or less. So here's what I'd do were I you: first, find out how much your distributor is advancing (with the vacuum advance plugged if equipped). It will likely be 20*, 26*, or 30* IIRC. Then, find out what initial advance your car "likes" if you can tune it by ear. If tuning by ear is iffy, then I'd suggest a vacuum gauge - wherever your vacuum maxes out is more or less where the car is happiest at idle. If that initial advance where it's happy, plus the amount that the distributor advances total, is between 36 and 40 degrees, then you're set.