Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Start here for some background. Skip to paragraph 4 for the real question. Let's get this out of the way. I'm a car noob. I was blessed enough to get a 1966 Mustang from my grandpa when I was 2 years old. I'm now 18, the car is with me and is my daily driver.

The car has never run 100% right since I brought it home from sitting in a garage for 10 years when I was 14.

I have taken it to multiple places including a vintage Mustang specialty shop and none of them have gotten it running reliably.

1966 200ci i6 w/ C4 3 speed auto tranny. In a nutshell, I bought an external tachometer and timing light to try and verify that the engine was running at factory spec RPM and timing (Though I did use a Chilton manual to get those spec numbers). According to that, timing should be at 12° before top dead center and it should idle at 525RPM (I have no A/C unit).

Where I am confused is verifying the timing using the light. My gun is a Cen-Tech Xenon and has a dial on the back labled Advance Degrees and goes from 0-60. The booklet that came with it said leave the dial at 0. Am I supposed to do that or turn it to 12 since my timing is supposed to be 12B TDC?

·
Registered
2,196 Posts
Look at the balancer on the front of the engine. Do the timing marks have one labeled 12 degrees? Or maybe one is marked 10 and some smaller marks are adjacent and you can figure out which one is 12.
If so. Set the knob to zero. Point the flash at the pointer and the 12 mark should line up with the pointer.
Vacuum advance hose should be removed and blocked to prevent any chance of a vacuum leak.

The dial knob allows you to check things like the total mechanical and vacuum advance. The amount of advance is greater than the marks on the balancer. So the timing light electrically shifts the timing of the flash so the flash puts the 0 mark back in line with the pointer.

·
Registered
6,322 Posts