Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi there, I am a rookie rebuilding my Mustang engine. So far, so good. I have a 67 Mustang inline 6. I am rebuilding the engine. Cam shaft, crankshaft, pistons and rings and oil pump are all installed to the lower block. The block is on an engine stand. I needed some guidance on the next steps in assembly.

I installed the gears and timing chain. See the pics of the old assembly before I removed and the new clean block.

My question, is there any orientation to the crankshaft and Camshaft, top dead center ?

there is a groove on the inside of the gear that lines up on each shaft. That is easy. I want to make sure on the alignment of the shafts to each other.

Second question,

Once I put on the chain, can I close up the bottom of the lower block ?

Once i put on the timing chain, I can then put on the timing chain cover and flywheel followed up the oil pan. I can then flip the motor over and install the lifters and the lower block is done. Correct ?

I have watched a bunch of video's, but if you know of any to watch, let me know

thanks

·
Registered
3,671 Posts
Usually there is a mark of some sort on each sprocket of the timing chain. You line up the two marks adjacent to each other and that way you know the crank and camshaft are both at TDC. I'm thinking that round identation on the cam sprocket in your photo, near the 12 o'clock position of the photo is one of the marks. Look for a corresponding mark on the crank sprocket and have rotatate the two sprockets until the marks are adjacent.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
see the new picture I uploaded. I lined up the dot on the camshaft gear and the dot on crankshaft gear. I assume that means I have the chain on correctly.

Can anyone confirm this for me ??

·
Registered
2,133 Posts