Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,293 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ongoing front brakes saga...

After disc calipers are rebuilt by SSBC, I'll have to reinstall and bleed. It's my first time for this...need to get a set of line wrenches....

TIPS ?

- I'm not using silicone brake fluid. Recommended type / brand for the replacement?

- Bleeding tubes: Did you make your own? if so, what size is the tubing and how long? Did you buy?

- What do you use to hold the fluid when you bleed the brakes?

- Will I need to bleed all 4 wheels' brakes even though I'm only working on the fronts?

AFAIK to bleed you simply open the bleed valve, put on the bleed hose and submerge into fluid, and pump the pedal a few times until no more bubbles. Use of "speed bleeders" ? When to add more fluid to the MC and to what level for final fill?

Thanks for any guidance. I hope to get the calipers off on Saturday in hopes of having them back for reinstall next weekend.

Every so-called problem presents an opportunity to learn ! TIA - Dickson

·
Registered
7,671 Posts
Assemble the system, fill the MC with DOT4 fluid (I use Castrol, some of my racing buddies use HD Ford brake fluid). Barely crack the bleeders open, let gravity bleed your brakes... Will prolly take 3-4 hours, keep a check on the fluid level.
Wouldn't be a bad idea to slip a length of 7/32 rubber hose on each bleeder to direct the fluid into a container.

·
Registered
4,971 Posts
Sounds like you have all the bases covered. Empty Diet Pepsi cans work for your containers. You shouldn't have to bleed the rear although I would at this time since you'll already have everything in place for a flush.
The biggest thing to concern yourself with is to make sure you don't forget to keep your eye on the fluid level in the master cylinder. Letting it go empty defeats the purpose and will suck more air into the system.