Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
  • May's Ride of the Month contest ended with a tie! Go to this thread to vote on the winner! VOTE HERE
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
934 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm a newbie to the concours world and have seen lots of posts about detailing, paint markings & related, I'd like to post a question I don't think I've seen on here before. What do judges look for as far as the actual function of the car in the trailered class? Do I have to demonstrate the trans engages into drive & reverse, all electrical accessories operate? What kind of penalty for a failed component? Deductions for a car that has to be jump started?
On a related question I'd like to poll some owners to see just how much engine run time or driving your cars have done. The non-concours folks always joke about how the trailer queens aren't real cars anymore, just wondering if any cars out there have gotten anymore than to the end of your street & back. The engines look so amazing in some of these cars, it's hard to imagine they've been run for long, especially a FE big-block.
Does burnt paint around the exhaust ports get a deduction?

·
Registered
2,832 Posts
MCA has no operational test, SAAC does everything but wipers. As far as driveability so do, some don't. My 500 got driven 1000 miles a year or so and is a SAAC/MCA concours gold car.

·
Registered
934 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the input. As I said, I am a concours newbie. Functionallity will always be just as important to me personally being a professional Ford technician. Would I be an odd ball at a concours show, starting up my car, driving it out and into my trailer, and into it's show space in a trailered event?
I'd imagine with the MCA rules as you stated, more that a couple cars get pushed around.

·
Administrator
19,528 Posts