Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to carb tuning...I have the 200 CI I6, 3spd Tranny.

Okay...From searches, this is what I've found so far. A good place to start is to set the idle screw 2 complete turns from all the way in (but no too far). Advance to 6 degrees BTDC. I see 2 different screws, one in the front...one in the back on the passenger side. I'm thinking one in the front because it seemed to have more impact on my idle speed. THe one in the back effected it at high idle. Am I correct there?

Speaking of idle speed...what is the correct idle speed. I hooked up a tach/dwell meter today. The dwell was around 42 degrees (which is pretty close). The RPMs however were at 1300 (that is at normal idle). THat seems a little high. It sounds like it is running high. When I turn the idle screw in to slow it down...the lowest I can get it without the car cutting off is 1000. The timing information that I got said to run it down to 525 RPM. Why is the idle so high? How can I get it down to normal? What is normal idle?

When it is running at 1000 RPM, the timing is at 6 degrees BTDC, so I'm probably off at idle (and it sounds like it).

I think that is it for now. Thanks.

Slade

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Jim,

First thing to do is square away the timing. Just shooting a light at it isn't the answer. You really need to remark the balancer. Balancers can and do shift surprising amounts throwing the amateur tuner for a loop. You can get in the balpark just by pulling the front plug and spinning the motor over by hand and try to pinpoint the piston dwell at TDC. Then, make you a new mark on the balancer @ 0* on the pointer. I'll betchya a quarter it's not where your original mark is at /forums/images/icons/wink.gif