Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,825 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found an interesting article on MSN about the Pros of making money off of your hobby. Its been traditionally said that its not a good idea to do this, but here is an opposite point of view. Probably somethings most people don't know or realize. Just thought I'd share... :)

·
Registered
20,339 Posts
Having had my own business I can relate to the article. BUT owning a business is work! IMO, it's nothing more then a catalyst for turning work into money. It's great to enjoy what you're doing though.

After many years I truly believe that the people who turn a hobby into a successful and profitable venture are people who did a hobby as a side line for fun and just happens to take off.

I truly believe, deliberately turning a hobby into a business is a recipe for disaster.

·
Registered
6,332 Posts
Im a mechanic , at my old job I was jumping all day from morning to night . I got so sick of turning wrenches that when I arrived home I did not even want to change a spark plug on my lawn mower . Im still a mechanic but working on a little bit different stuff and it's not boom boom boom gotta go (well sometimes it is ) . Stange enough I got interested in working on cars again after being away from hardcore wrenching for 5 months . If I tried to start a Mustang business I fear Id be right back where I was , hating what I do from burnout . Id be ok for a few months then Id get fried , once I got fried Id still do a good job at work but Id never touch anything of mine again .... so there goes the enjoyment .

·
Registered
4,775 Posts
Since I have finished my mustang I have been getting request from people to paint their cars. I also do mechanic work on the side as well. You can see one of the cars I am painting for someone now and he has two more friends lined up for paint work. One is a 67 coupe and the other is a GSX.