Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Dimples
4,647 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: I have no hands on experience on this, just something I heard.

A somewhat reputable source told me that many (most?) SBF headers can be made to fit GT40P heads by adding a header flange and using it like a spacer. You know, the bare flanges used for custom fabbed headers like these:

Too good to be true? Maybe, but I’m interested in trying it out. I’ll report back if/when I do.

Anybody else heard this, or better yet, tried it?

·
Dimples
4,647 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Makes sense....
That’s the part that got me. I‘ve poked around a P engine on a stand, so I understand the challenge of the different spark plug angle, and I could see this working. Thing is, if this did work, how could it not be common knowledge by now?

·
Registered
5,198 Posts
Do you put gaskets on either side of the plate?

·
Registered
20,920 Posts
I'm skeptical. The problem with typical headers is that several of the tubes bend right at the flange backwards. With the typical SBF head the plugs are laid back. The P plugs are more perpendicular getting in the way of the tube itself. The plugs stock out farther as well. The tube really needs to come pretty straight out for about the first inch before turning. A good rule is if you can get a deep socket on the rear bolt of each tube, you have a pretty good shot

·
Registered
10,823 Posts
might work on an engine stand but spacing the headers out away from the head will cause shock tower clearance problems

·
Dimples
4,647 Posts
Discussion Starter #8