Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This has not been a good weekend! :-( I've been preparing for weeks to get the AC in my 66 coupe working and thought I had everything thought out. I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination but I have worked on AC systems before (my 65 Tbird, 92 Olds Silhouette) and have done so successfully. I even bought an electronic leak detector to help me fine minor freon leaks (works great by the way).

Here's what happened today, if anyone has some thoughts as to what's happening I'd appreciate a reply.

Installed new condenser.
Installed new dryer.
Installed new AC belt.
Siphoned old oil from compressor, flushed with denatured alcohol.
Ran a vacuum on system for 45 minutes.
Installed 6 ounces of esther oil via funnel into compressor. The retrofit kit I purchased had three cans of combination 134/oil/stop leak which I assumed would give the system the correct amount of oil.
The retro kit has a hose with a gauge on it for the low side, and since I could not find a 134 fitting that fit the schrader valve on the high side I did not check the pressure there -- relying instead of the low side readings.

First can of refrigerant went in normally -- can slowly got cold and took about 10 - 15 minutes to empty. The Gauge however had me stumped. It started way high, like 65 psi and then dropped to near zero as the can was empty. I usually only monitor the high side when I've done AC work before so I didn't know if this was normal or not.