Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, Guys,

As some of you know, I bought a '66 oupe last Saturday and noticed on the drive home, that it was pretty much of a hand full. It wants to constantly "wander"...not "pulling" either way, just spasmotically wandering to one side and/or the other. Also, I nothiced more "inside" wear on both front tires (more so on the driver's side than the other). I'm assuming this may be caused by too much negative camber, but I'm far from an expert in this area.
Anyone have thoughts/suggestions?
Thanks in advance......

Attachments

·
Registered
590 Posts
Were the tires ever rotated... how about a shot of both tires from the front maybe they are toed out? I don't even know how you could accomplish too much negative camber at least I sure can't lol

·
Registered
1,998 Posts
Sounds like loose everything!! Check it all out, ball joints, tie rods, upper and lower control arms, idler arm bushing, steering box, wheel bearings, strut rods... You get the idea, right? That and a good alignment.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I had a problem with my 67 where the front tires were wearing on the insides also. Dont rermember if it wandered any but it turned out that the frame was cracked somewhere causing a "sag" in the suspension. sorry i can remember where exactly it was cracked (this was about 14 yrs ago) but you may want to take a close look for any structural cracks or splits in the front end. I had a body shop weld it up and that fixed my tire problem. PS. looks like you got road hugger tires..those were the same ones I had when i had my problem..hmm.

·
Registered
120 Posts
I'd check the idler arm first.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Were the tires ever rotated?
Sorry, I don't know...the car has been sitting for the past2 years at least.

I don't even know how you could accomplish too much negative camber at least I sure can't lol
Like I said, no expertise here. ???