Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here and only owned my 65 for less then a week. I admit I don't know the rules of using a forum, but am impressed with the knowledge on here, so looking for help. Oh yeah, I'm also a girl that knows nothing about engines, but your replies my husband may understand better. Here's the rundown.
1. Loud knock or rattle when idle in park or say stopped at a light, or driving extremely slow, cant hear it when driving up to speed.2. Engine and radiator and other parts extremley hot to touch, even after shut down for a while. 3. Strong smell of exhaust(I think, not sure what hot antifreeze smells like,so could be that).4. Saw some steam coming from oil cap today. Temp gauge hasn't moved, so it may not be operable. No leaks, radiator full. THis is a 200 straight 6.After reading threads, could this be a water pump? If so, should I stop driving immediatly, or can I daily drive short distance for a couple more days until can get to mechanic? Thank you!

·
Registered
52 Posts
Hi, newbie here and only owned my 65 for less then a week. I admit I don't know the rules of using a forum, but am impressed with the knowledge on here, so looking for help. Oh yeah, I'm also a girl that knows nothing about engines, but your replies my husband may understand better. Here's the rundown.
Welcome I'm new too to this site!