Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I kind of have a weird situation here. I have a 68 coupe with factory disc brakes in the front and drum in the rear. I replaced the brake pads, rotors, and wheel bearings and seal on both sides over the weekend. I have done a few previous brake jobs so It's not like I'm really new to this. However, I compressed the caliper piston as far as it would go on both sides and it seemed that the pads rubbed no matter how much I sanded the pads because I thought they were too thick (got a different brand pad and still had the same issue.) However, there was little contact between the rotor and pad so I figured it would be ok because it would just wear off after a couple short drives anyway. So I go to drive the car and it seemed that the brakes would stay engaged until I gave it some gas AFTER I had released the brake pedal. Also, after driving a few miles I got out to check to make sure the rotors were okay, The drums in the REAR were smoking like crazy. I haven't even touched them since I have owned the car and never had this happen before. I replaced the master cylinder over the summer because it was leaking into the booster. I cleaned all the fluid out of the booster and all was fine until this job. I have some good experience with cars but I'm not an expert by any means (I'm only 20 lol) but my guess was that either it was a defective master cylinder or booster. The pedal seemed to be a bit more spongy than I remember also. Could also possibly be the distribution block, but I wanted some other opinions before going any further. Thoughts on what it may be? Possibly the MC went bad when I compressed the pistons? I thought It was something I had done until I realized the drums were smoking when I had never touched them.

·
Premium Member
4,384 Posts