Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to buy a torque wrench and am wondering what are some good options “for the money?” I don’t want a piece of junk, but I’m not a professional mechanic using it all day either… suggestions?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
713 Posts
I picked up a couple Craftsman in various drive sizes a few years back and so far they have performed good.

Also, it's generally a good idea to set them back to 0 torque when not in use.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Can't advise on what to buy, but can DEFINITELY advise on what NOT to buy. Stay away from the cheapies (Harbor Freight etc) as you said in your initial post. You get what you pay for.

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
I bought a cheapie HF torque wrench a while back. I've never had the confidence to use it. I'm still using my old fashioned Craftsman. Spend a $100 and get something decent.

·
Registered
‘69 Cougar convertible resto mod
141 Posts
I’ve been happy with my SKF and my Kobalt 1/2” torque wrenches. My Craftsman’s both failed. I also bought a 3/8” Ikon from HF and it’s been solid.

·
Registered
116 Posts
My Snap On dial type is 40 some odd years old
!/2 inch drive and has a nice plastic case
True it cost about 175 in 1980 dollars
However I have never even had to get it recalibrated
Dial types are accurate to within 5 percent
Click type are accurate to within 10 percent
I agree Tekton is a reasonable alternative for way less dough
I have several Tekton ratchets in my box and like them enough to keep buying them

·
Registered
845 Posts