Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm somewhat new to the classic mustang scene. I am fourteen and me and my dad are considering buting and restoring a 1967 I6 Mustang. It is a real steal. What do the judges in the shows look for? I know people put emphasis on originality. I mean if the vins match and everything. So is it stuff like original color scheme and things or does that not matter. COuld you give me a site on where I can find show tips criteria and so forth. ANd if one day I pulled the six and put an V8 in will that affect my placement.

·
Premium Member
411 Posts
The best thing you can do is volunteer to judge. That way you learn what the Judges look for first hand.

There are several different classes. I"m most familiar with th e MCA, so I'll stick to they're classes, let other describe how other shows may do it.

(MCA)Classes:
Daily Driven: Car MUST be the PRIMARY form of transportation. Not a Sunday Driver. Undercarriage and Engine Compartment are not judged. Judging is done on Cleanliness and condition only, not origonality. MCA shows have this as a 1,2,3 place awards, You are competing directly against other cars in this class.

Street Driven (also called Occasional Driver): Car is driven, but probably not on a daily basis (it could be but that would be alot of cleaning). Undercarriage is not judged , but the engine compartment is. Cars are Judged on Cleanliness and Condition only. MCA shows have this as a 1,2,3 place awards, You are competing directly against other cars in this class.