Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
692 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I have learned allot about setting up a new carb and adjusting to a degree but I'm still quite new at this. I've made several adjustments in the warmer months to great benefit. But now we are heading into late fall and hitting high 40's and low 50s in Maryland and Northern Virginia. What are you supposed to do to the carb as temps drop?

68' Coupe 302 V8 with a Holley 4160 (600 CFM) + electric choke. Forced to run on 10% ethanol gas. Usually use premium but it runs just as well on regular. 302 is a 74' 302 so not seriously high compression but it's recently rebuilt w/about 1000 miles on it.

Startup is getting more and more difficult when she is dead cold. Seems to run rough and light puffs of black sooty smoke for about the 1st 30 seconds but then starts humming perfectly after she gets going. Once warmed up it's very easy to restart and runs pretty well. But starting to notice some hesitation as temps plummet when I step on gas even warm.

To date I've learned to watch the vaccum guage I bought and get it running nicely when adusting mixture screw, by guage, feel and ear. Usually pulls about 15-16 hg of vaccuum when running happily. I've been able to adjust both idling screws on both sides but have no clue which way to go with them in colder temps. I brought the cold idle cam down a bit after I put her together this summer because startup was ridiculously high RPMs. Now it's idling high enough at startup but not crazy high. Kicks down quickly, then after 3-5 min kicks to idle in 50-60 deg temps.

Jonathan

·
Registered
930 Posts
If you adjusted your choke for summer time, you will probably have to adjust it again for winter. But then leave it that way.

Long ago my dad taught me to pump the gas pedal twice while cranking. That technique has never failed me.

·
Registered
38 Posts