Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 136 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
My name is Preston. I'm looking to buy a first gen Mustang in the sub 25k range. It's a car I plan to daily so reliability is my biggest concern. I've found a 65 Coupe with a brand new blueprint engine. Would this improve reliability? Aside from that, what else should I look out for when looking for one. This is my first time using a forum, so I apologize if I commit any major faux-pas. Thank you all! I'm eager to join the Mustang community.

·
Spammer Hammer
10,752 Posts
You should know how to do the majority of the work that will be required yourself. Otherwise, you will be upside down faster than you can say the word Mustang.

·
Super Moderator
10,661 Posts
I sound like an old man, but 16 is too young, think money pit.

Welcome to the board, others may think differently.

·
Spammer Hammer
10,752 Posts
There is no such thing as reduced maintenance with any vehicle, classic or new. Has said $25K car been thoroughly inspected for rust? How much research have you done relative to classic Mustang pitfalls? How familiar are your parents with these cars and what is required to use them as a DD? I’m not trying to discourage you, but these are real concerns you need to be aware of.

·
Super Moderator
10,661 Posts

·
Dimples
5,658 Posts
Don't let these guys scare you. It is entirely possible to daily drive a classic. You just have to have the right mentality, and that's for you to determine.

Old cars require love, and that's usually in the form of maintenance. Whether that's keeping a sharp eye on things, checking fluids, etc... or replacing things that break. If you have no plans to work on it yourself, I would advise getting a newer car. A trustworthy shop is a rare thing, and you don't want to have to depend on their time frame. Your biggest enemy is likely going to be the previous owner. They often do weird things that cause headaches down the line.