Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 69 mach 1 428 cj. Its been sitting for about 10 years or more. Im thinking Id like to try to start it to see if it will run. What are the first things I should do? I have tured it over by hand to make sure it wasnt locked up. It was suppose to run when parked but im sure now there are going to be fuel related problems. So where do I start, Im not a mechanic but I do have some skill.

Mike

·
Registered
405 Posts
If it has been sitting for 10 years, the gas in the tank and carb have turned to varnish. Take the carb off, clean it and rebuild it. The fuel lines and tank will more than likely need to be replaced. Squirt a little oil in each cylinder and turn it over by hand a few times before attempting to start it.

·
Registered
207 Posts
at least drain the oil and put in fresh. pull the plugs, shoot some marvel mystery oil in.

how much fuel is in the tank? these older motors do have some tolerance for old fuel. i'd put some fresh in if you don't want to drain the old out. when you start it keep a lookout for leaks at the fuel pump and carb. they should be replaced or rebuilt before you start it.the cooling system should get a quick flush atleast.

·
Registered
2,060 Posts
Pull the distributor and spin the oil pump with a drill to get oil to the bearings, cam, and lifters. Hook the fuel pump to a small container of gas and give it a try. I'll bet it fires right up. Good luck, Jack.

·
Registered
4,897 Posts
I'd replace the plugs and wires, here is what my wires looked like after about 12 years.

http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/1/web/541000-541999/541371_8_full.jpg

They stood by themselves, I literally had to break them in half so I could throw them away.

·
Registered
3,570 Posts
Clean carb. new plugs, new oil, Drain the tank. Clean up the cap and point. Clean contact on coil. Check wiring.
Clean battery cables or replace.

·
Registered
35 Posts