Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
  • May's Ride of the Month contest ended with a tie! Go to this thread to vote on the winner! VOTE HERE
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4,971 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
install these wheels on say... a '66 Mustang?

I've read where you guys are talking about spacers and such to overcome BS issues, but I've never used a wheel spacer before and never thought I would so I haven't really been paying that much attention....

Although I'm not thrilled with the 17" wheels on the 65-66, deals like this seem too good to pass up.... (the link is provided as an example, there are actually better deals than this on new take-offs).

Thanks,
Dave

·
Incorporated Sell Out
17,130 Posts
Approx $200 or so for bolt on adapters. Just measure the backspacing on the late model wheel, subtract 4.75 (assuming it is an 8 inch wheel) and then order an adapter in that size.
45 offset is like 6.25 backspacing so 1.5 inch adapter for those wheels and then add some new tires because the 55 series is too tall

·
Registered
7,294 Posts
Backspacing should be 5.95" on those, so a 1.25" spacer gives 4.70". Don't be fooled, the 05+ bullets look hott on an early mustang, a lot better than I'd have thought. If you do it, post pics. ;)

·
Registered
4,971 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you tire/wheel fitment god! I looked at your tire wheel fitment chart for hours. I actually printed it at the office and have been dwelling over it...

Buying wheels for this '66 is somehow eluding me...

I want 15x7 TTD's w/3.75 BS for the front and 15x8 w/4.5 on the rear....

Or maybe 15x8 w/4.5BS all the way around. I don't want to have to special order the wheels though...

Decisions decisions....

Thanks again! and any advice is greatly welcomed!

Dave

·
Registered
285 Posts
I have pics of '06 17" bullits on mine and my buddy's 65 and 66. How do I post pics?

·
Incorporated Sell Out