Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
6,460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I'm stuck inside my house so I'm up to no good, of course... once again pondering Jane's braking situation! I've been eyeballing this off and on since 2016, apparently, but now I'm really bored so it seems like a good time to start eyeballing this again. This is going to be a very long post with a lot of different ideas in it. I welcome (informed) opinions on any/all aspects! I tried to bold the most important questions/points.

Here's the deal: I currently have 15x6 Wheel Vintiques Styled Steel wheels with 4" backspacing. 215/65/15 white letter tires (Indy 500 Firehawk, 6 years old but only 20,000 miles), no rubbing to speak of. Stock KH brakes in front with EBC Red pads, 11x2" drums in the rear with whatever pads. The rear end is a 1956 big bearing 9" and I suspect that the drums go with the rear end, but who knows.

I have three problems:
1) The rear brakes periodically seem to lose brake fluid.
Frequently I have no idea where it goes. In the past, the wheel cylinders have leaked. I've replaced them multiple times due to manufacturing tolerance issues (improperly machined bleeder screw holes causing weeps) and I suspect this is still the problem. Either that, or the master cylinder is letting it go somehow. It does leak around the top seal which annoys me. I have checked the entire length of the brake lines and can find no other place where they could be/are leaking.
2) Pedal feel is not as solid as it should be. It's not super spongy, but it does not feel nearly as stiff as other cars I've driven. I suspect this is related to problem #1 (duh).