Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How long does the upper control arms need to be in relation to the lowers?

·
Registered
8,138 Posts
I guess it would depend on where your mounting points are at. It's the angles that is more important than length. The Fox/SN95 uppers also come adjustable for extremely lowered cars since really lowered cars tend to push the snout down creating D/S vibrations.
FWIW, there has beem MUCH discussion on the front bushings on the lower arms put out by the aftermarket. If you look at stock bushings they are not round but oval or diamond shaped. this is due to the axle actually pushing forward on one side when the car is in a turn up a hill at an angle. Such as pulling into a steep driveway. I've been running aftermarkets for a couple of years now and have not noticed a problem, yet. And my house has a steep driveway.

·
Registered
353 Posts
As for bushings, yes, in the oblique 4-link design you MUST HAVE compliant bushings in the upper links and in the fronts of the lowers. OE rubber, or at least something that's free in rotation like a spherical bearing or a Currie Johnny Joint. Hard bushings mean lots of bind and unpredictable roll stiffness and maybe broken arms.

I'm not quite sure why one would want to build an oblique 4-link like the Fox anyway, the little tiny upper links result in pretty compromised suspension geometry for floorpan-packaging reasons (and all the damn Foxes crack at the upper link mounts, the lower link mounts, the seat track mounts, blah blah blah...)

There are better Satchell link designs out there (the GM A/B-car designs) that use longer upper arms but the basic layout is not as good as a 3-link or parallel 4-link with Panhard or Watts for lateral location, you're always going to have a certain amount of slop in your lateral axle location.