Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Parted with my '65 coupe to make room and build this '66 fastback from the ground up. Never taken on a project like this before so besides going back in time and not getting sucked in, where do I start?

She won't be a show car and won't ever be sold. What structures come first? What can be removed as a group...etc. What gets saved towards the end?

I'm not a pro, but I've got the basics down with a MIG. There also just happens to be a 351w also sitting in the garage, that's the direction I'm going. So any advice on extra support/structure is greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
9,933 Posts
Pictures are too small to see very much. If it needs a lot of rust repair as in replacing the entire floor pan you may as well strip it down completely to a bare shell and work from the ground up as they say.

·
Premium Member
9,933 Posts
I think that most people who have installed the full length floor pans on both sides regret that they didn't just buy the one piece complete floor pan and replace the entire floor.

·
Registered
34,260 Posts
Parted with my '65 coupe to make room and build this '66 fastback from the ground up. Never taken on a project like this before so besides going back in time and not getting sucked in, where do I start?
Everything structural, which includes the quarter skin.

She won't be a show car and won't ever be sold. What structures come first?
Whatever is the worst.

What can be removed as a group.
Nothing. Each component should be replaced one at a time, to maintain maximum dimensional stability. That's why you do one at a time, worst part first. The biggest assembly I'd use is a fender apron/rail, and you'd leave the rad support and suspension bracket on the car while doing it. Also, a high-quality export brace should be on the car at all times.
What gets saved towards the end?
Anything cosmetic.