Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 1969 Mustang. I'm not a mechanic and i need to learn everything that i want to do with the car. i can fix small things, but usually i bump into a problem how to take things apart or back together, etc.

I think a good workshop manual would help me here? Which one is really good? I'm looking at 5 book set: Mustang Shop Manual 5 Volume Set Mustang 1969

·
Registered
5,030 Posts
what exactly are you looking to take apart?

How to rebuild SB fords by Tom Monroe is a great book. Had mine 30 years and still refer back to it

the shop manuals are great to but like mentioned does not get into any troubleshooting details or for many things step by step instructions

for example all its going to say is remove cyl head. its may not give you a 15 step detailed process to do so.

Toms book is way more detail oriented.

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
^^^Yes^^^ I would also get the assembly manuals. They complement the shop manuals very well. They have much of the details that are missing.

These cars are actually pretty simple and most things can be done with a socket set and a screw driver. You can rent/borrow the other stuff from your local auto supply store. If you rent it more than twice, go buy one. Just take pictures along the way so you know what you're doing when you put it back together. Put all your nuts and bolts into plastic bags and label them in detail. Another technique I sometimes use is to stick my screws and bolts into cardboard (along with the washer and nut) and just write on the cardboard where it goes. The more detail the better so you remember what to do a month later.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #6