Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Im fairly new at the car thing, but consider myself somewhat cognizant, an average idiot with above average aptitude shall we say. Researching and replacing my squeaky clunky drum brakes, cylinder, shoes, springs, drums, fluid.. all mechanically explanatory, and relatively uncomplicated. What makes sense to me is the stronger shoe return spring would attach to the secondary shoe, as it moves second, but I keep reading the contrary.

Top springs. stronger spring to the primary shoe, usually blue. weaker spring to secondary shoe
The heavy ( green ) spring goes on the front shoe. The lighter spring ( yellow ) goes to the rear shoe.
The shoe with the weakest return spring moves first until it contacts the drum. Then the shoe with the stronger return spring moves out to the drum.
Quote #3 makes sense, but doesn't specify which shoe. I wasn't able to find anything on the forum that confirmed my suspicions, but did finally come across this book "the Fundamentals of Automotive Technology"
it makes sense. The last paragraph is contradictory to what is quoted above. Who's right?

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
10-4 thank you, I value your opinion, and appreciate you clearing up the misinformation. Like I said I haven't worked on cars in a long long time, but I remember what BS smells like.

·
Premium Member
3,370 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Maybe so! Back when I worked on my cars, there was no internet, I didnt even have a manual. I went with my instincts. These days its google first, wrench second, and when you read too much crap it just gets confusing. From now on, I'll only ask after Ive tried and failed. Its nice to have torque specs and tolerances, but nonsense and straight up wrong advice just muddies the waters.

·
Premium Member
3,370 Posts
Please don't do that with brakes!