Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
  • May's Ride of the Month contest ended with a tie! Go to this thread to vote on the winner! VOTE HERE
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
21,479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Personally I don't like MII kits that don't use struts. While I'm not an engineer it alway gave me the willies. Ford with all of their money and expertise put a strut on for a reason. I'm sure they would have done away with it if they thought could be widening the cross member or adding a spacer. To me, it looks like too much stress for the cross member to handle.

Yes I know there's going to be a lot of people who disagree with me and the failure could have been do to improper installation but I still don't like the lack of struts on this suspension design.

Here's the link http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/ifs-failure-tragic-results-127985.html

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
In this case it looks like the sleeve ripped right off the frame. All of the stress is directed on that sleeve. The two legs of the A Arm essentially form a strut, however there is nothing bolsterng the support at the ends of the A Arm. If it were me, at a minimum I'd add some additional supports that run from the the outer end of the A-Arm to the cross member. At least the A-Arms mounts would be in double shear, and the added support would help direct some the load to the center of the cross member.
http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=25454
Link to picture...

·
Registered
270 Posts
Its hard to say what happened. The arm mount "could" have been ripped off when it buried it into the pavement. Without seeing the damage done to the arm, we can only assume that it tore the mount off.