Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I could use an educated eye here. I recently got a '66 coupe, 289, Carter AFB on an Edelbrock Performance RPM, T10 4-speed with Hurst shifter. A lot of work on this so far but she runs good. I'm no expert but am pretty good mechanically (58 yrs old, grew up tinkering) I want to replace the gear oil in the rear end but I don't know exactly how. I've seen videos and descriptions for unbolting bolts around the casing and cracking it to let the fluid drain out, etc. But this rear end doesn't seem to have that. And I have no idea what size it is. I live in a small town area and there are no genuine Mustang "experts" locally who I'd trust. Any "serious" thoughts/advice? And what on earth - does that look like a modified leaf spring?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
13,217 Posts
You have 2 choices to drain the gear oil. 1) Get a suction gun or pump and stick a hose in through that screw-in plug and suck it out. 2) Remove the entire differential from the front of the housing and let the oil run out. You will need to remove the driveshaft, both axles and about 10 or 12 retaining nuts to pull the differential. You will need a new gasket to put it back together.

That leaf spring is a "helper" spring to help the original worn out leaf springs to keep the car from sagging in the rear.

·
Registered
929 Posts
Dude, have your wife or a doctor do it.

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
I'm not a proctologist but I'll have a peek. ?
Easiest way as mentioned, get a fluid pump from your local auto parts store and just suck the old fluid out through the fill hole.

Reactions: rdnck1

·
Registered
179 Posts
You can either suck it out or drill a hole at the bottom and tap it/install a drain plug, that way it will be easier next time.

·
Registered
932 Posts