Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, since I'm waiting on the shop manuals to get here (cursing UPS the whole time for losing them once ...) I'll go ahead and ask a question. I changed the oil pan with the engine still in and haven't seen anything resembling a leak yet (thanks for the info tjbatzli, johnpro, and 66benchcoupe, it all came in handy). PO had apparently thought about replacing the pan because the crossmember was loose and a couple of the oil pan bolts had been torqued down too much just like the valve covers he put on had been.

Well, here's the question ... It looks like I'm tossing oil through the right exhaust bank. I've fired her up three times since I got the oil pan on and she threw oil all three. Didn't have that problem before ... what do you guys think? Piston ring? A seal?

Like I said in the last post, this is my first project, so I'm still learning what to look for. Any info/advice you can give is greatly appreciated.

kt
1969 Coupe ... work in progress

·
Registered
10,587 Posts
Explain that "tossing oil" a bit more in detail....liquid, smoke, through the exhaust, on the exhaust...etc...

Also, give us a general idea of how the engine runs and how the spark plugs look in the affected cylinders...

Glad the pan project went well...

Pat
http://www.jps.net/binay/webdocs/strtmstng002_sml.JPG

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The oil is coming through the exhaust. Right out the tailpipe ... got a nice splatter pattern on the garage floor and driveway directly behind the right tailpipe. The spark plugs are brand new all the way around and I'm headed out to look at them right now for any residue ... will post back with that info in a minute.